“Meditation is the perfect setting in order to receive universal awareness”

Basic belief – Universal Energy flows IN us and AROUND us (non-dualistic energy)

Belief # 1 – Everything starts energetically as universal vibration/energy then manifests itself emotionally (your passion, your life’s purpose) and then eventually it turns into a action energy (physically acting upon your life’s purpose). Success comes from within.

New Belief # 2 – The purpose of awakening our own awareness is to grow our own divine radiance (light) and as your own energy begins to grow bigger & brighter, your connection to the Universe’s fiery vibrations/intensity grows with it.

Meditation is the act of OPENING the mind – to receive increased awareness

** Preparing the mind comes before preparing the body when working with different belief systems. Therefore, we need to start with a strong mental attitude … then proceed to the enhancement of our physical skills

  • Meditation (mind)– the act of quieting the mind
    1. Quiet place
    2. Mood of reflection – go deep inside your mind
    3. Props – pillows, beads, tea
    4. Stating your intention – open with your belief that this will happen (Faith)
    5. Trust in the powers that be …
    6. Breath – deep breathing
    7. Mantra – Om Gum Ganapatayei Namaha
    8. Closure & Gratitude
  • Physical (body) – heightened awareness of your 6 senses in order to receive

Sound              Sight                Touch              Smell               Taste

6th sense is ** Intuition … Feelings

It is by trusting your intuition; we start to prepare yourself for a life of re-awakening.

Meditation with Malas, Mantras & Mudras

Mala Beads

A fabulous tool for enhancing your meditation practice is to use a mala, which is a string of beads used for prayer. Each mala has 108 beads which is a multiple of the number 3 which stands for the Holy Trinity.  The religion of Hinduism believes in a Trinity of Gods (Brahma (the creator), Vishu (the preserver) and Shiva (the destroyer). In some cases they can be a divisible of that number as 54 or 27. Each bead has consistent space between one another as they are strung together with silk thread and a knot in the middle. To tie the mala together there is a big bead known as the guru bead with a tassel strung off of it. The tassel is meant to represent one thousand lotus petals.

Meditating with a mala can be a beautiful experience. This practice ties together many of the Kundalini traditions into one meditation by combining Naad yoga (the recitation of sacred sounds), gemstone therapy, acupressure and a deep contemplative meditation.


To begin let’s use a mantra you’re familiar with, SA, TA, NA, MA. You can hold the mala in any hand at the bead that falls right after the guru bead. Then recite the mantra, SA, TA, NA, MA, while holding each bead between the thumb and one of the fingers, moving from one bead to the next with each sound. Pull each bead over the fingers with your thumb as you recite the mantra. Once you reach the guru bead say a special prayer and then begin again.


By placing different fingers underneath the beads you can stimulate meridian points that affect different parts of the brain. When you press the beads against the meridian point in your finger you can experience certain results. Each meridian is located on the side of each finger between the center point and the upper knuckle.

Breakdown of what each meridian point can do:

  • Index Finger (Jupiter Finger): Wisdom. Knowledge. Prosperity
  • Middle Finger (Saturn Finger): Patience.
  • Ring Finger (Sun Finger): Health. Vitality. Strengthen the Nervous System.
  • Little Finger (Mercury Finger): Communication. Intelligence.

Choose the meridian point that you want to work on and begin your mala meditation today. Know that this meditation will help you deepen your spiritual awareness and heighten your capacity for stillness.

  • Mantras are … highly compressed power packed formulas; usually associated of Sanskrit origin which are charged with deep meaning & magical potency.
  • Mantra # 1 – Om Gum Ganapatayei Namaha – is loosely translated as meaning “Wake Up Root Chakra energy of transformation so that I can move through any obstacles in my life. It is said over & over 108 times. It calls on the powers of Ganesh, the elephant headed God figure who is called: The Remover of Obstacles and/or Lord of Beginning. This version is sung by Devi Prenal
  • Mantra # 2 – SA TA MA NA – Sa means Infinity, Ta means Life, Ma means Death, Na means rebirth … Long Time Sun by Snatam Kaur
  • Mantra # 3 – Jaya Jagatambe – by Krishna Das – means Celebration of or Victory of … Mother Earth